Ex-Emo Ocho Ochoista Chronicles: Doing A Singapore, the Diaspora, Cuba and the Free Market

Ang usapang ito ay nagsimula sa isang FB thread.  Ang mga nag-uusap ay dating mga tibak noong kanilang kabataan. Ngayon ay may kanya kanya na silang buhay at bihira nang mag-usap until Facebook came along. Si Manny ay nasa press, si Alpha ay isang agribiz entrepreneur, si Bravo ay nasa corporate, si Lima ay nasa provincial capitol.

Note: Ang X-men ayon sa PCIJ ay yung mga ex-activist o mga dating tibak.
-oOo-

On The Alignment of Local and National Political Forces

On 5/3/2010 09:51, FB wrote:

Alpha commented on his status:

“Matyag ko Phy, didto sa Mlang bisan naga faction-faction mga kaparyentehan didto, pero  isa lang ang kandidato sang tanan Erap gid.  Pati gali dira sa Thailand? hahaha! Ang taga Davao tana, mga Noynoy kasagaran pati mga kabataan.  Ang mga gagming iya, Villar eh. Ang iban nga  mal-am kag ulianon kag limtanon, Gibo. ang may high blood, Gordon.   hehe!”

Bravo replied:

Just waiting for election to be finished, and for Aquino to win. Can’t wait to say “Filipinos get the government they deserve”.  ROTFLMAO.

***

-oOo-

On “Doing A Singapore ”

On 5/4/2010 07:30, FB wrote:

Lima commented on Alpha’s status:

“Toto Manny; that is political reality. That is why we are pushing, provoking until it gets even. Amending the constitution as you have suggested hinges on the chances that more senators and congressional representative think along that way, which also means dapat magdamo anay ang senators from Mindanao.

Nevertheless, Mindanao is slowly getting there, these days,  it is even heard more than the other insecure regions of Visayas.

Daw contest na. Either Emperial Manila (or Emperial Luzon), wakes up and listen to the Mindanaoans clamor for equal attention, or they wake up to the reality that Mindanao is already economically and politically strong enough to ignore the them, and march forward like Singapore did.”

Bravo replied:

Singapore had its LKY. Philippines version of LKY is not a frontrunner – thanks to Filipinos mentally challenged faculties.

***

On 5/4/2010 08:07, FB wrote:

Manny commented on Alpha’s status:

“Singapore has its ISA or Internal Security Act inherited from the British where dissent, freedom of speech, counter-consciousness were suppressed to indefinite stay in jail.

Reds/commies  were a rarity there. They are seen as anti-progress. Lee Kuan Yew et al have done these gauntlet Machiavellian policies to project stability so capitalist around the world invest there. Chinky eyed Singaporean has one of the world’s top Per Capita Income.
Who is the Lee Kuan Yew of Mindanao? Na-a ba? Mi kilala ako si Lee Kaw Ko Nimu sa M’lang .”

Bravo V replied:

At least in Singapore, you stay alive. In the Philippines – you get a bullet between the eyes – whether from commies or the gov – same crap.
As far as commies are concerned – if you are young and not a commie, you don’t have a heart.. If you are already old and still a commie, you don’t have a brain. LKY of Mindanao? maybe when there’s a republic of Mindanao – which ain’t happening. So, you’ll have to stick it out with Republic of the Philippines. Villar an LKY? Aquino an LKY? Estrada an LKY? OMG anak ni Janice… ROTFLMAO.

***

On Cuba and the Free Market, Why LKY Will Not Win in the Philippines, Diaspora

On 5/4/2010 10:13, FB wrote:

Alpha commented on his status:

“Manny I don’t bash the ultra left and even ultra right.  I have outgrown that style long ago.. I believe in the plurality of paradigms. Besides to me bashing is an indication of low self worth. One can challenge ideas without bashing.

Cuba is a paradise for those who have no penchant to be super rich and greedy.  If the oil runs out today, only Cuba will survive as a nation.  They have experienced it and survived during the so called “special period” when the US imposed an oil embargo. And I surmise that  its latest fan is no less than Barack Obama. have you heard Obama bashing Cuba?  I think those who still  disdain Cuba are remnants of the Ku Klux Clan and the white supremacist and of course, George Bush.

Bravo,  bring LKY here, and he’ll never win even in a barangay election.  The drug lords, the gambling lords , warlords, and those in their payroll  will not allow him to win. He will be nipped in the bud. Why? Because he’s incorruptible and disciplinarian rolled into one.

Lima, there are more than 10 million Filipinos who already  left the country. The exodus has started a long time ago.

Bravo replied:

Absolutely – LKY wouldn’t win in the Philippines – the drug lords, gambling lords, and those in their payroll have only one vote each – but filipinos have come to believe 10 warlord votes will outnumber the other millions of votes – if that’s the mentality – you get the government you deserve, and deserve to be mocked, bashed, and made fun of – di pa rin natuto. alangan namang tawagin mong genius ang retarded :D.

if the oil runs out, there is coal, there is natural gas, there is hydrogen fuel, there are biofuels – there is technology which is being squelched, oil running out is a good thing so that new technologies can come out in the open.

and am part of the exodus, have had enough of putting up with all that crap – hey if majority of pinoys want to be in bed with the oligarchs by all means, but am not staying around to watch people get fried in their own lard. they have been told and the arguments have been presented. if they would rather feel good with their delusion – be my guest, but am not putting up with it – am jumping ship, already jumped ship – gusto mo mangamatay, soloha ninyo… ROTFLMAO.

***

Am reminded of Napoleon Hill’s book – Think Rich and Grow Rich:

People who do not succeed have one distinguishing trait in common.

They know all the reasons for failure, and have what they believe to be air-tight alibis to explain away their own lack of achievement.Some of these alibis are clever, and a few of them are justifiable by the facts….

But alibis cannot be used for money. The world wants to know only one thing-HAVE YOU ACHIEVED SUCCESS?

A character analyst compiled a list of the most commonly used alibis. As you read the list, examine yourself carefully, and determine how many of these alibis, if any, are your own property.

IF I didn’t have a wife and family . . .
IF I had enough “pull” . . .
IF I had money . . .
IF I had a good education . . .
IF I could get a job . . .
IF I had good health . . .
IF I only had time . . .
IF times were better . . .
IF other people understood me . . .
IF conditions around me were only different . . .
IF I could live my life over again . . .
IF I did not fear what “THEY” would say . . .
IF I had been given a chance . . .
IF I now had a chance . . .
IF other people didn’t “have it in for me” . . .
IF nothing happens to stop me . . .
IF I were only younger . . .
IF I could only do what I want . . .
IF I had been born rich . . .
IF I could meet “the right people” . . .
IF I had the talent that some people have . . .
IF I dared assert myself . . .
IF I only had embraced past opportunities . . .
IF people didn’t get on my nerves . . .
IF I didn’t have to keep house and look after the children . . .
IF I could save some money . . .
IF the boss only appreciated me . . .
IF I only had somebody to help me . . .
IF my family understood me . . .
IF I lived in a big city . . .
IF I could just get started . . .
IF I were only free . . .
IF I had the personality of some people . . .
IF I were not so fat . . .
IF my talents were known . . .
IF I could just get a “break” . . .
IF I could only get out of debt . . .
IF I hadn’t failed . . .
IF I only knew how . . .
IF everybody didn’t oppose me . . .
IF I didn’t have so many worries . . .
IF I could marry the right person . . .
IF people weren’t so dumb . . .
IF my family were not so extravagant . . .
IF I were sure of myself . . .
IF luck were not against me . . .
IF I had not been born under the wrong star . . .
IF it were not true that “what is to be will be” . . .
IF I did not have to work so hard . . .
IF I hadn’t lost my money . . .
IF I lived in a different neighborhood . . .
IF I didn’t have a “past” . . .
IF I only had a business of my own . . .
IF other people would only listen to me . . .

IF – and this is the greatest of them all – I had the courage to see myself as I really am, I would find out what is wrong with me, and correct it, then I might have a chance to profit by my mistakes and learn something from the experience of others, for I know that there is something WRONG with me, or I would now be where I WOULD HAVE BEEN IF I had spent more time analyzing my weaknesses, and less time building alibis to cover them.

Building alibis with which to explain away failure is a national pastime. The habit is as old as the human race, and is fatal to success! Why do people cling to their pet alibis? The answer is obvious. They defend their alibis because THEY CREATE them! A man’s alibi is the child of his own imagination. It is human nature to defend one’s own brain-child.

Building alibis is a deeply rooted habit. Habits are difficult to break, especially when they provide justification for something we do. Plato had this truth in mind when he said, “The first and best victory is to conquer self. To be conquered by self is, of all things, the most shameful and vile.”
***
IF I lived in a different neighborhood . . . no more IFs – I already live in a different neighborhood, and the happier for it.
***

Middle class living is not super-rich. In a 2010 world, Pinoys who want to do a Cuba can migrate to Cuba and live in the 1950s – but obviously, Pinoy feet are not lining up in the Cuban embassy.

2 comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by AntiPinoy.Com. AntiPinoy.Com said: New post: Ex-Emo Ocho Ochoista Chronicles: Doing A Singapore, the Diaspora, Cuba and the Free M (http://bit.ly/dwie3v) http://bit.ly/dwie3v […]

  2. lol.. I found your facebook account BongV.. Also found Chino 🙂
    Don’t worry.. I wont add u guys.

    But about this blog, the conversation you guys had was quite intense. Gave me a headache! hahaa!

Leave a Reply

